Household bills Program

Didier Rodrigues Lopes
4 min readJul 17, 2021

My first side project.

Before University, I spent most of my spare time playing counter-strike (my steam account had more than 1000 hours played, that’s more than 41 entire days playing in a row). I was a decent player I’d say, you can see a compilation of “almosts” I’ve done here.

However, I knew this wasn’t the way. I realised that if I used the amount of time I was spending on online games for learning, I would have a much bigger satisfaction return. And, in the long term, my life would be better.

So I started studying hard. I started valuing my time more, and declined most of the parties I was invited to because I was busy working late hours. Don’t get me wrong, I’m an easy person. I like to think I make friends easily. However, I just had different priorities, and partying just wasn’t one of them. As my parents say: “Everything has its own time”.

In my 2nd year of University, I was getting really good grades, which means that I started having discussions with the other best students in the course. That’s how I met one of the smartest people I know to this day. This guy was a proper hands-on person, he didn’t study half the time I did, but he was always busy with something. He had a band, developed his own personalised guitar pedals and amplifiers, and developed some apps for fun. He did this all while having excellent results at University, which is insane. That’s when I realised that he was not only giving more priority to these hobbies in relation to partying or meeting people, BUT

--

--